WHY LIKING TWILIGHT SHOULDN’T BE A CURSE

Twilight should be burned at the stake.

If this was the 1600s, that is – where people had genuine fear of vampires and witches were trialed by being thrown into oceans with concrete blocks chained to them.

What I’m saying is: Hating twilight is SO last year.

There are some self-proclaimed book-lovers who support every book and author on this universe: except for Twilight.

And when asked why, this is what they say: “Because Bella is weak. Bella never fought for herself. SPARKLY VAMPIRES.”

Bella fought for herself more than anyone ever seems to understand.

As readers, the vast majority of us are probably introverts. We are an explosion of diversity, shapes and sizes – colours and brains.

And sadly almost every single one of us has probably been effected by mental health issues in someway or another – whether it is in ourselves, or in our loved ones.

I might be reading into it too much, but the main point of my argument is this:

Bella had anxiety. Bella fought depression.

How dare you hide behind your computer screens and say she wasn’t a strong female character. Yes, she relied on someone who she loved to help her.

BUT HOW IN THE HELL IS THAT EVER A BAD THING?

Maybe it’s bad purely because he’s a male?

Would it have been okay for Bella to rely on someone else (how dare she?) if it had just been her family member or a female friend?

Would that have been okay with you Twilight-haters?

IMG_2646
LET’S MOVE ON TO MY NEXT POINT OF ARGUMENT. (I have a long list).

So maybe you don’t like Stephenie Meyer’s writing. Which is perfectly okay! It happens.

But a lot of people who I’ve spoken to who have said this haven’t read the books. You all just presume its bland and unimaginative.

HELLO?

IN WHAT UNIVERSE ARE SPARKLY VAMPIRES UNIMAGINATIVE?

I’ve done enough ranting. Just have some Twilight (and sequel) quotes to appreciate and reflect over before you can accept that my word-is-law:

“Time passes. Even when it seems impossible. Even when each tick of the second hand aches like the pulse of blood behind a bruise. It passes unevenly, in strange lurches and dragging lulls, but pass it does. Even for me.”

OH, WAIT.

What’s that?

ACTUAL FREAKING EVIDENCE THAT BELLA WENT THROUGH DEPRESSION, HUH?

IT’S RIGHT THERE. IT EXISTS.

“You let love give someone the power to break you.”

I’d been broken beyond repair.

WOAH. It’s like she went through a difficult break-up or something and you know, actually grieved?

So maybe she didn’t go skipping down the road chasing the lost-love-of-her-life, but let me tell you as someone who has gone through breakups: the pain shatters you into oblivion. Your thoughts are everywhere and nowhere all at once. The ache is constant and driving and steals your breath away.

And then – there are so many times where Bella faints or has anxiety attacks or blacks out because she’s apparently so weak. 

But mental health does not make you weak.

Fighting it makes you the strongest person I know.

And I’m so proud of you.

So, ignoring the fact that Twilight literally drove Young Adult books into the market with an astounding roar, and ignoring the fact that you might not necessarily like the plot line or the writing:

Bella is strong.

And I’ll never believe otherwise.

Would you honestly go up to someone suffering from anxiety or depression and tell them that they aren’t strong? That they’re weak and that relying on someone they love is their greatest weakness of all?

I would willingly be a crutch for anyone who needs me. 

So I will keep fighting.

I will keep repeating that Bella isn’t weak, that she was never weak.

That she’s possibly the most realistic YA character out there.

You might think that you’d be more like Katniss Everdeen or Tris Prior.

But you’re a Bella.

And so am I.

And that’s okay. 

15 thoughts on “WHY LIKING TWILIGHT SHOULDN’T BE A CURSE

Add yours

  1. Oh my gosh this post 😍 I just wrote a confession post about how much I loved Twilight! 😂 You’re totally right about Bells and I can’t believe I never saw it before! Would you mind if I linked to this post when my “confession post” goes live next week?

    Like

    1. That would be amazing! When it’s live and has a link, I’d love to add yours onto the bottom of mine too 💜 Something along the lines of: IF MY OPINION ISN’T ENOUGH, HEAR IT FROM PEOPLE I TRUST! (Insert link to your post)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I read Twilight so long ago that I don’t remember it all, but I don’t understand why it gets SO MUCH hate. Even the people who like it get hate, it seems, which is ridiculous because why can’t people have different taste? You’ve made some great points about depression that I haven’t seen mentioned anywhere else. I also don’t get why people are so angry about the sparkly vampires. There’s nothing wrong with having preferences for how vampires are written, but like you said, it’s creative!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It totally does not make sense! If people dislike books, they’re usually pretty respectful of the author and their work regardless, but it seems that all kindness flies out of the window when it comes to Twilight. People who preach “book love” suddenly turn into flying demons. I just don’t understand. Regardless of whether you like the book or not, Stephenie Meyer but so much hard work and effort into it – just like all authors do. But Twilight gets the most hate of all!

      Like

  3. I loved Twilight because I’ve been a huge vampire fan since the 90s before Twilight came about. I hated that only then it came out because I didn’t know anybody who liked vampire books back in the 90s and Twilight made vampires so popular.
    I can’t help liking Twilight. I’m not a girly girl and I never used to like to admit I like romantic books I'(d admit to Jane Austen books and Jane Eyre being my favourite book but I’d call them classics) but I will admit I’m a sucker for a romance sometimes. I used to call Bella whiney (sorry) but I did defend the books otherwise, Someone said once that Bella is a bad role model for moping about and feeling suicidal when her boyfriend dumps her, but then that happens, sadly. Your post has proved them wrong and if ever anyone criticises it I’ll have to show them this. Thanks for this, you’ve opened my eyes too

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s okay to see Bella as whiney. I’ve re-read the series so many times and I can totally see where people come from. I guess I came to the realisation of what she was really struggling with when my awareness about mental health spread. I saw a guest post Stephenie Meyer had written about how she wanted Bella to be accurate and true and show people that true strength comes from fighting depression and anxiety, and not your ability to fight on a field. I can’t remember where I saw the post now, or if it even still exists – but I remember how much it moved me and cleared a lot of things up.
      People especially complain about the part in the movies where Bella comes home from school and sits staring out of a window for about 5 months. She doesn’t go out, she doesn’t feed herself, she doesn’t sleep. It rings a bell so much with me because of my sister who once said during her depression that she just found herself sitting and staring. She couldn’t motivate herself to do anything. And Bella goes through that exact thing.

      Like

      1. I never thought of it that way before I read your post. I don’t remember reading anything anxiety related in Twilight but haven’t read it for a while. Thanks for opening my mind and giving me anothet reason to be a Twilight fan ☺

        Liked by 1 person

      2. She’s very hyper-driven. She hates social interaction, can’t bear being at parties – faints after Edward kisses her. Really struggles with getting herself to school on the first day. Worries that everyone hates her.

        Damn I think I’ve read Twilight too much! XD

        Like

      3. She’s an introvert. I don’t recall her being anxious but it’ll give me a good excues to reread one day

        Like

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑